The Eureka Veterans Cycling Club was formed at the beginning of 2009 by a small group of cyclists who believed there was a need for the type of racing that only a veterans club can offer.

The new club was a reincarnation of the former Ballarat Veterans Cycling Club which had merged with the Ballarat & Sebastopol Cycling Club during the 90s.

In 2017 the club decided to compete under the name Eureka Cycling Club.

The club is affiliated with the Australian Veterans Cycling Council.
Eureka members hail from Ballarat and surrounding townships including Bacchus Marsh, Beremboke, Blackwood, Buninyong, Creswick, Daylesford and Miners Rest.

Eureka Cycling has permanent club rooms which are located on the outskirts of the township of Learmonth, twenty kilometres north-east of Ballarat.  Club races are conducted in various shires including – Ballarat, Pyrenees, Moorabool and Hepburn.

The club rooms are on the edge of Lake Learmonth and are shared with the local yacht club.  The change rooms, toilets, showers and cooking facilities help create a home base which is enjoyed by all on race days.

The Eureka Cycling racing season runs from January to December each calendar year.

Club races are held on most Sunday mornings with entries accepted on the day before 9am.

Race start time is 9.30am.

The club does not usually stage races which may clash with other veterans cycling club open events.

The race circuits vary in distance from forty three kilometres to sixty kilometres.  Handicap and graded scratch events are scheduled throughout the racing season. Criterium races are held on a 1 km street circuit in Ballarat during the early and late season.  A Team Time Trial is also conducted during the year.

Eureka riders accrue points towards the Club Aggregate in every event they contest (or perform official duties at).

Highlight events staged by Eureka Cycling include:

Ron Rivette Classic
- sponsored by Shane Cook Homes, VVCC open event

Eureka Championship Races
- presented by Ken Heres Bobcat & Backhoe Hire

Charlie Braszell Handicap
- sponsored by the Braszell Family

GP Doug Garley
- includes dirt sections

W.A.R.S. (Winter Aggregate Race Series)
sponsored by TBA

Ron Rivette Memorial
– staged at Balliang, presented by Shane Cook Homes

Hill Top
- presented by TBA

Autumn & Spring Criterium Series
- presented by TBA

Rising Sun Trophy
- proceeds donated to local community

Commodores Cup
- final race of the season

Eureka Cycling acknowledge and thank the ongoing support of all sponsors:

(alphabetical order)
Davidson’s Blinds
Eureka Concrete
Europa Cafe
Forty Winks BALLARAT
Hocking Stuart BALLAST
Oscars Hotel and Cafe bar
Ken Heres Bobcat & Backhoe Hire
Shane Cook Homes
Steelsmith Engineering
Wayne Horne Earthmoving
The Braszell family



Recent club racing


Recent Comments

    Race Archives

    Login Form