2019 race calendar / marshal roster

CLICK on 2019 calendar to open printable pdf sheet

2019 calendar

>Marshal roster is updated on a regular basis<

EUREKA Cycling Club races are generally conducted at Learmonth*
Races start at 9:30 am and entries close at 9:00 am on race day. (unless otherwise stated)

*Criterium races are conducted on the criterium circuit in Victoria Park, Ballarat

Sunday Jan 27: 50 Km Kermesse (graded), Burrumbeet
8x Laps of a 6.25 Km circuit, Start/Finish in Hendersons Road

Sunday Feb 3: Criteriums, Victoria Park, Ballarat

Sunday Feb 10: 45 Km Handicap, Mount Misery

Saturday Feb 16: VCV event - Camperdown to Warrnambool
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 12th February

Sunday Feb 17: no Eureka event

Sunday Feb 24: 50 Km Graded, Weatherboard
marshals: Shaun Martin, Rob Parker, Cameron Farrington
also, VCV event - State Criterium Championships
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 20th February

Saturday Mar 2: Criteriums, Victoria Park, Ballarat
Time: TBA
In conjunction with Cycling Victoria – Victorian Criterium Championships

Sunday Mar 3: no Eureka event
Cycling Victoria - Fred Icke (VRS event) at Learmonth

Sunday Mar 10: no Eureka event
VCV event - Central Victorian Vets Open
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 5th March

Monday Mar 11: EUREKA Cycling Criterium Championships, Victoria Park, Ballarat
marshals: TBA

Sunday Mar 17: 55 Km Handicap, Mount Ercildoune + Addington Loop
marshals: TBA

Saturday Mar 23: VCV event - Eastern Cycling Open
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 19th March

Sunday Mar 24: 52.5 Km Graded, Windmill
marshals: TBA

Sunday Mar 31: 60 Km Handicap, Weatherboard
marshals: TBA

Sunday Apr 7: VCV event – Ron Rivette Classic (Eureka Open), 56 Km Handicap, Mount Ercildoune
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 2nd April
Volunteers required

Sunday Apr 14: 63 Km Handicap, Coghill’s Creek
marshals: TBA

Saturday Apr 20: AVCC Australian Championships, Easter at Maryborough Day 1
Sunday Apr 21: AVCC Australian Championships, Easter at Maryborough Day 2
Monday Apr 22: AVCC Australian Championships, Easter at Maryborough Day 3
entries via VCV website 

Thursday Apr 25: VCV event - Northern Cycling Benghazi
entries via VCV website close on Thursday 18th April

Sunday Apr 28: Rising Sun Trophy, 55 Km Handicap, Windmill + Wall finish
marshals: TBA

Sunday May 5: 45 Km Graded, Mount Ercildoune
marshals: TBA
also, VCV event - Warrnambool Vets Open
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 30th April

Saturday May 11: La Course Aux Velo Femmes, Women’s Bicycle Race 52.5 Km Handicap, Windmill
Race 1 – 2019 MFB (More Females on Bikes) Series
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 7th May
Volunteers required

Sunday May 12: no Eureka event

Sunday May 19: 50 Km Kermesse (graded points race), Burrumbeet
marshals: TBA

Sunday May 26: no Eureka event
VCV event - Colac Vets Open
entries via VCV website close on Tuesday 21st May

Sunday June 2:  W.A.R.S. 1, 54 Km Handicap, Mount Beckworth
marshals: TBA

Sunday June 9: no Eureka event

Monday June 10: Race For Ray, combine handicap, distance TBA, Ballan/Myrniong area
marshals: TBA


Marshal duties on race day at Learmonth:

  • Marshals are required to use a motor vehicle capable of carrying signs – please do NOT ride bicycles to the event
  • Marshals must present themselves at the club rooms at least 45 minutes prior to the race start
  • Marshals are required to carry a mobile phone and exchange numbers with the race day referee
  • Marshals are required to inspect the complete section of the circuit that they are responsible for and inform the race day referee of hazards

Marshal duties for criterium racing at Victoria Park:

  • Marshals are required to 30 minutes before the scheduled start time to assist with corner sweeping

Marshal Policy

It is a requirement of police and council permits that event marshals must be assigned to each event conducted by the club.
The club has a duty of care to provide safe and effective control of races and the role of race marshal is an important responsibility. Based on current membership, members will be rostered to marshal at twice during the racing year.

In order to equally spread these duties among club members and ensure fairness in the club aggregate competition the following rules shall be applied:

  • Members are expected to personally undertake their rostered duties
  • Members may arrange a date swap with another member and notify the club of such a swap
  • A member failing to meet marshalling obligations will NOT be permitted to race until they have completed their duty (at a time approved by the club)
  • Should the need arise for a member to be rostered for a third duty, then an appropriate substitute shall be allowed – the member WILL be permitted to race and accrue aggregate points
  • If practical, members will be given a limited time window to nominate their preferred marshalling dates once the race program has been listed on the club website – once this window is closed, marshals will be assigned by the club
  • The club is not in a position to organise swaps for members (club office holders simply do not have the time arrange swaps for others)

Recent Comments

    Race Archives

    Login Form