Archive for the General News Category

Ron Rivette Classic – Sunday 28th February 2016 – 10 AM

Ron Rivette Classic – Sunday 28th February 2016 – 10 AM

Entries for this event are now closed


10 AM
Sunday February 28th, 2016

proudly presented by



58 km Open Handicap
Mt. Misery circuit, Learmonth

Click on map to increase size:

EVCC 2016 Eureka Open course map

Download and print off your own (pdf) course map by clicking on this link:

EVCC 2016 Eureka Open course map

Total prize pool for the Open race is $1950

13 prizes on offer:

First place $500

Second place $300

Third place $200

prizes paid (sliding scale) down to Tenth place

Fastest Time $200

Two spot prizes worth $50 each will also be paid on the day.

After the race the Eureka Veterans Cycling Club invite all riders and spectators
to join us for a post race supper before the presentations take place.

The 2016 Ron Rivette Classic promotional material features the initials RR faintly in the background.

The RR adorns the collar of the Bacchus Marsh cycling jerseys in remembrance of Ron.

Poster #3 in a series.

EVCC open - Ron Rivette 2016 general

Poster #2 in a series. (Coming in 2016)

EVCC open - Ron Rivette 2016 teaser poster #2

Poster #1 in a series. (This summer)

EVCC open - Ron Rivette 2016 teaser poster #1


Election of new committee for 2016

Election of new committee for 2016

2016 AGM

The 2016 Annual General Meeting was held after the race day presentations on Sunday 31st January.

All Committee positions were declared vacant.  The Handicapper role was also declared vacant.

Terry Collie has stepped down from the President role which he held for 3 years.
We thank Terry for going above and beyond what would normally be expected of a Club President.
Terry will continue with the “Race Permits” role.

Elaine Parker has stepped down from the Treasurer role which she held for 4 years.
Elaine has turned the Club’s finances around and achieved many goals that she set herself.  Financially we are in a very good position due to Elaine’s skill and passion.  Thank you to Elaine for your marvellous efforts!
Keep an eye out on the sidelines when racing to see Elaine cheering everyone on.

John Faulkner and John Creek have stepped down from their committee roles.
John F has taken on the role of Time Keeper with the VVCC.  John will be very busy with Mylaps throughout the year.  We hope to see him get a race or two in over the course of the year.
John C plans to go camping a lot this year.  John will help Mal Rock out with organising the marshal roster from time to time.  He hopes to race whenever he isn’t on holidays…
Thank you to both Johns, we wish you both well.

Graeme Parker has stepped down from the role of Handicapper which he has performed over the past few years.
A very big thank you to Graeme for assisting riders in returning to form by kind handicaps.  Also, for helping some riders move up the ranks by encouraging and challenging them.  Also, for doing a consistently fantastic job in levelling the playing field.  During Graeme’s tenure, many handicap races have seen the entire field cross the finish line within a 3 minute spread.
Thanks again Graeme, and we hope you get to race throughout the year.

2016 election

Nominations for the committee positions and handicapper role were received.

A new committee has been elected for 2016, with Ken Heres as Club President.  We welcome Ken back to the President position.  Ken hopes to race a lot more this season.
Peter Livitsanis will be continuing in the Secretary role.  We certainly look forward to his race reports!
Brad Eppingstall will take on the role of Treasurer.  We welcome Brad to this position.
Bob Morley has been elected Vice President and also Handicapper.  Bob has previously held the Handicapper role at EVCC.  We welcome him back to the position.
Bill Groome has returned to the committee.  Bill will also continue help out on race days with various duties.
Mal Rock has been elected to the committee.  Mal will also organise the marshal roster throughout the season.
Dean Wells has been elected to the committee.  Dean will continue with electronic media – club website and Facebook page.

For the 2016 season, the new committee is:

Club President – Ken Heres
Vice President – Bob Morley
Secretary – Peter Livitsanis
Treasurer – Brad Eppingstall
Committee person – Bill Groome
Committee person – Mal Rock
Committee person – Dean Wells

Handicapper: Bob Morley



Ken Heres preparing for a race at Learmonth.

File photo courtesy of The Courier, April 15, 2009.


2016 memberships

2016 memberships

EVCC fake licence

To RACE with the Eureka Veterans Cycling Club you require an AVCC racing licence.

This racing licence is for insurance purposes.

Racing licences are available online via the IMG Sports Technology Group website.

Purchasing this licence includes your Eureka Veterans Cycling Club membership for the calendar year.

Click on the link below to access the IMG membership portal and join for 2016.


Go to Club online membership


SOCIAL membership is available for those people wishing to be involved with the club, but NOT race.

Please visit the club to discuss a social membership.

2015, the season that was…

2015, the season that was…

After another long season we can now applaud the achievements.
The final trophy presentations were conducted after the Commodores Cup at the club rooms on the Lake Learmonth foreshore.

Big congratulations to Phil Cartledge for taking out this year’s Club Championship, Club Aggregate and A Grade Criterium Aggregate – one of his children had to stay in Learmonth so he could fit all his trophies in the car.

2015 Club Aggregate
1st – Phil Cartledge
2nd – Tony Mirabella
3rd – Graeme Parker

2015 Steelsmith Trophy – Mal Rock


Trophy race results for 2015

- for the full list of place getters please refer to the various race reports which can be found on this website.

Note: riders are from Eureka Veterans CC unless otherwise stated.

April -

Ron Rivette Memorial (presented by Shane Cook Homes)
A Grade: Stephen Lane (Northern)
B Grade: Owen Tudball
C Grade: Shane Cook
D Grade: Terry Robinson (Geelong)

Rising Sun Trophy
1st – Shane Miller (Grampians)
True Spirit Award – Matt Bowman

June -

Wayne Horne Earthmoving Hcp, combine race with Colac, Geelong and Warrnambool:
1st – Des Lane (Warrnambool)

Mirabella Trophy
1st – Andrew Rushton

July -

Charlie Braszell Handicap
1st – Tony Mirabella

GP Doug Garley
1st – Darren Terry

August -

W.A.R.S. *Winter Aggregate Race Series (presented by Europa Cafe): 
1st – John Creek

Eureka Open, VVCC Open:
1st – Jamie Robinson (Geelong)

October -

Mega Meats Hill Top Handicap
1st – Tony Mirabella

November -

Ken Heres Bobcat & Backhoe Hire Championships
Club Championship – Phil Cartledge
B Grade – Danny Whelan
C Grade – Terry Collie

Steelsmith Spring Criterium Series
A Grade – Phil Cartledge
B Grade – Dean Wells
C Grade – Terry Collie

December -

Commodores Cup
1st – John Faulkner

* W.A.R.S. included races from late May through to mid August


Photo: Phil Cartledge and his family with the spoils of a long determined season of riding.


Page 6 of 12« First...3456789...Last »

Recent club racing

Recent Comments

    Race Archives

    Login Form