Archive for the News Category

EVCC supports local CFA

EVCC supports local CFA

The Eureka Vets Cycling Club are proud to make a $500 donation to the local rural fire brigade.

The inaugural Rising Sun Trophy (26th April, 2015) was the beginning of not only a new “classic” for the club, but also a new initiative to contribute back to the local community.
Our donation consisted of the race entry fees, raffle money, individual member contributions and a club contribution to round out the total.

Graham Findlay – President of the Learmonth – Addington CFA – attended the post race presentations at our next club race to receive the cheque.

The Learmonth – Addington brigade covers a vast area and is manned by volunteers.  In a sad irony, a dry Lake Learmonth has now increased the area the brigade has to cover.  The fairy grass which has grown across the dry lake bed poses a significant fire risk to the club rooms which the Eureka Vets CC share with the Learmonth Yacht Club.

Whilst the CFA provides the equipment for the brigade, many incidentals are not covered.
Graham told the members that the brigade had recently purchased and built another shed to house various apparatus and equipment.  This shed was built out of funds raised by the brigade.

The Learmonth – Addington brigade consists of about twenty locals, many of them local farmers.  The brigade proudly boasts a 100% attendance rate at emergency events in their area.
At times brigade members join with other CFA members in fighting fires away from this district.  On occasion the Learmonth – Addington firetruck has been required to also travel away from the district.  Whenever this occurs, other local brigades such as Waubra or Miners Rest  cover the Learmonth – Addington area.  Likewise, the local brigade assists in covering other close by townships when their brigades are away on duty.

Hooray for the CFA, and thank you to all Eureka Vets members whom raced and/or made a contribution to this fundraiser.


Picture:  EVCC Treasurer Elaine Parker and EVCC Vice President Terry Collie present our $500 donation to Graham Findlay (President, Learmonth-Addington CFA).



2014 Annual Trophy Presentations – 7/12/2014

2014 Annual Trophy Presentations – 7/12/2014

2014 Club Champion, Tony Mirabella, also took out the 2014 Club Aggregate, topping off a great year. Below is the full list of 2014 trophy awardees. Well done everyone and see you all in 2015.

2014 Club Champion (A grade): Tony Mirabella

B Grade: Peter Livitsanis

C Grade: Graeme Parker

2014 Club Aggregate:

1st: Tony Mirabella

2nd: Graeme Parker

3rd: Phil Cartledge

Steelsmith Trophy: Lisa Ritchie

Eureka “100 Ride” Honour Board inductees

Phil Cartledge (127)

Graeme Parker (118)

Kevin Lee (116)

Mal Rock (111)

Richard Taylor (108)

2014 Club Championships – Ballarat Courier, 2/11/2014

EVCC article2

Pete, Scott and Brad in the money at the 2014 Geelong Open

Pete, Scott and Brad in the money at the 2014 Geelong Open

Congratulations to Pete Livitsanis on 3rd place in the 2014 Geelong Open (October 5). Scott Denno finished close behind in 4th and Brad Eppingstall finished 7th. Thanks to the Geelong Veterans Cycling Club for hosting a great event. Geelong Open placegetters

Page 20 of 22« First...10...171819202122

Recent Comments

    Race Archives

    Login Form