Team Time Trial – Rhooks Rouleurs Roll the Rest

In a dominant display of power riding, John Rhook lead his team of Terry Collie, Terry Constable, and Peter Livitsanis to a handsome victory in the Eureka Vets inaugural team time trial on the Weatherboard circuit.

5 teams of four participated in this popular race, with each team made up of a rider from each of the grades. Each team adopted slightly different tactics to account for the spread of ability in their team, with a few noticeable common elements eg the A grade rider did most of the work up front with the lower grade riders peeling off with one and two laps to go.

John Rhooks team left the engine work to John who essentially led from start to finish with the only reprieves coming when the other riders needed a break from his tenacious pace setting. Peter Livitsanis did the sheep dog work rounding up any stragglers and trying to keep the Terry’s together just behind John. The team, although looking a bit of a shambles from the outside, managed to average over 37km/hr with a last lap average of 39km/hr which nearly killed the sheepdog.

After ripping himself up the day before, Tony Mirrabella’s contribution to his team of Bob Morely, Gail Oliver and Greg Curnow looked doubtful. However, the mercurial Tony showed he was made of harder stuff than us mere mortals and lead his exhausted team to a very respectable second place. Both Gail and Greg rode strongly and Bob found out what max heart rate means on the last lap. With some gentle encouragement from Tony, Bob’s last desperate gasps secured second place.

Andrew Rushton was ably assisted by John “Mr Crit” Creek, Ron Larkin and Brett Caddy to score third place. The foursome were all riding well which caused some debate at the end of the second lap as to who, if anyone, would drop out. Ron and Brett left it to Creekie and Andrew to finish off the last lap, the team finishing third, just 8 seconds behind Team Mirrabella. Andrew’s jacket flapping around behind him like a parachute may have cost them 2nd place.

David Peters lead out perhaps the most even bunch of four comprising himself, Dean Wells, Peter May and Geoff Braszell. They were always going to have to rely on superior team work and silky smooth turns to do well, and to their credit finished less than a minute behind 3rd place.

Darren Terry, Dean Griffin, Alan Barnet, Mandy Rhook started well with strong man Darren riding with disregard to any wind that might have been around. Unfortunately Mandy suffered and early puncture and retired, leaving the heavy lifting to Alan, who did well to hang on to the two workhorses. Despite being a rider short this combination posted a time only 15 seconds slower than 3rd.

Shane Cody’s team didn’t quite look like the draft team he posted earlier in the week, but the combination of Kevin Lee, Matt Ritchie and Gary Blood certainly had the diesel engines needed for success in a time-trial. Shane’s captaincy differed from the other teams, he was determined to have a good time and share the love around with everyone spending time on the front and working hard, which meant Shane could recover from time to time before lifting the pace again. This tactic meant everyone got to put in and practice working as a bunch, it also meant that their time suffered, finishing a tad under four minutes behind the winners.


1st                  1:05:43                                    John Rhook, Terry Constable, Terry Collie, Peter Livitsanis

2nd                  1:07:20                                    Tony Mirrabella, Bob Morely, Gail Oliver, Greg Curnow

3rd                  1:07:28                                    Andrew Rushton, John Creek, Brett Caddy, Ron Larkin

4th                  1:07:43                                    Darren Terry, Dean Griffin, Alan Barnett, Mandy Rhook

5th                  1:08:22                                    Dave Peters, Dean Wells, Peter May, Geoff Braszell

6th                  1:09:05                                    Shane Cody, Kevin Lee, Matt Ritchie, Gary Blood

Recent club racing

Recent Comments

    Race Archives

    Login Form