EVCC logo


The Eureka Veterans Cycling Club was formed at the beginning of 2009 by a small group of cyclists who believed there was a need for the type of racing that only a veterans club can offer.

The new club was a reincarnation of the former Ballarat Veterans Cycling Club which had merged with the Ballarat & Sebastopol Cycling Club during the 90s.

In 2017 the club changed its name to Eureka Cycling Club.

The club is affiliated with the Australian Veterans Cycling Council and is a member of the state veteran cycling body – Veteran Cycling Victoria (name change from VVCC in 2018).  The veterans competition is governed by the rules of the ICF (International Cycling Federation) which is based in Belgium.  The UCI has no jurisdiction over the ICF.

EUREKA Cycling members hail from Ballarat and surrounding townships including Ararat, Bacchus Marsh, Beremboke, Blackwood, Buninyong, Creswick, Daylesford, Miners Rest and Snake Valley.

EUREKA Cycling has permanent club rooms which are located on the outskirts of the township of Learmonth, twenty kilometres north-east of Ballarat.
The club rooms are on the edge of Lake Learmonth and are shared with the local yacht club.  The change rooms, toilets, showers and cooking facilities help create a home base which is enjoyed by all on race days.

Club races are conducted in various shires including – Ballarat, Pyrenees and Moorabool.

The EUREKA Cycling racing season runs from January to December each calendar year.

Club races are held on most Sunday mornings with entries accepted on the day before 9am.

Race start time is usually 9.30am.

The club does not usually stage races which may clash with other veterans cycling club open events.

Race circuits vary in distance and profile.  Road Racing events are conducted near Learmonth throughout the season.  Criterium races are held on a 1.3 km circuit in Victoria Park (Ballarat) during the early and late season.
Race formats include:
Graded events – scratch; points; kermesse
Criterium (graded)
Time Trial – team; individual

Eureka riders accrue points towards the Club Aggregate in every club event they contest (or perform official duties at), aggregate points are also accrued by competing in VCV Open events.

Feature events staged by EUREKA Cycling include:

Ron Rivette Classic (formerly Eureka Open)
– sponsored by Shane Cook Homes 

Eureka Women’s Open
– sponsored by Shane Cook Homes 

South Pacific Criterium Championships

Ken Heres EUREKA Road Race Championships

EUREKA Cycling – Club Criterium Championships

EUREKA Cycling – Club Time Trial Championship

Charlie Braszell Handicap
– sponsored by the Braszell family

GP Doug Garley
– includes dirt sections

La Mirabella Trofeo
– trophies courtesy the Mirabella family

The Livitsanis
– Masters combine race with Northern Cycling

Rising Sun Trophy
– proceeds donated to local community

Commodores Cup
– staged concurrently with the Club Time Trial Championship

W.A.R.S. (Winter Aggregate Race Series)
– sponsored by EUROPA cafe

La Course aux velo FEMMES
– Masters women open invitation race

Buckwell – Long
– Masters combine race with Geelong & Surf Coast CC

Pyrenees Derby
– Masters combine race

EUREKA Cycling acknowledge
and thank the ongoing support of all sponsors:

(alphabetical order)
Europa Cafe
Hopscotch Cafe
Ken Heres Bobcat & Backhoe Hire
Oscars Hotel and Cafe Bar
Shane Cook Homes
Steelsmith Engineering
Watson’s Bulk Logistics
The Braszell family

Masters cycling in Australia:
Masters cycling is for riders aged 30 and over.
EUREKA Cycling is affiliated with AusCycling and governed by UCI rules.




Recent club racing


Race Archives

Login Form