Tim Oliver takes Victory

Former scratch rider, Tim Oliver, had no problems dispatching the competition in a bunch sprint in a 48 kilometre handicap event on Sunday.

Twenty eight riders were met with bright sunshine accompanied by strong biting winds.

Shirley Hetherington was first away to face the Weatherboard magpie on her lonesome. Five minutes later Terry Collie Greg Curnow and Gary Blood gave chase.

It took them 30 kilometres to reel Shirley in which was great riding on her behalf.

The in form Ron Larkin, Ian Wallis, Graeme Parker and Malcolm rock were chasing five minutes further back.

An even scratch field were looking for success with Tony Mirrabella, Phil Cartledge Peter Keil, Dean Griffin and Doug Garley hopeful of bridging the 3 minute gap to second scratch. Dean Griffin is still somewhat underdone and lost touch after contributing some strong turns in the Avenue.

They chased hard, but history repeated itself, as they failed to catch second scratch.

The six minute bunch was loaded with power but it proved that power with no cooperation is worthless. President Ken Heres set the early tempo and was hopeful of some even turns from his group. However Richard Taylor and Darren Terry found themselves well off the front and the bunch was fragmented early. There was a 5 minute gap to the eventual winning group and they found themselves in no man’s land.

The most even group was the bunch being led by the talented and laconic Tim Oliver. He was ably supported by the experienced Bob Morley. John creek and Kevin Lee did not miss a turn and they quickly took time out of the Larkin group and made the capture in the Avenue on the third lap.

The two groups came together and it improved their chances as Larkin, Parker and Rock made strong contributions.

The same wasn’t happening at the back of the field when Cody, Calvert, Shaun Terry and Rod Hetherington picked up the remnants of the Heres led 6 minute bunch. To say that big Rodney was frustrated would be an understatement. What was supposed to happen was crystal clear in his mind, but to get it to happen was a different matter.

Meanwhile Tim Oliver was leading the new group and probably increased their speed, if anything, and they enveloped the outmarkers and headed for home. Gary Blood was hammering on the front for the last four kilometres and seemed comfortable. Malcolm Rock was giving a running commentary, with his football analogies, proving he was riding within himself.

The lead bunch got to the last hill and Tim Oliver tested the field and he increased his speed and put the bunch up the road. Half way up the hill he looked back and all were still there so he backed it off.

Gary Blood, once again, went to the front with some fearless power riding. Bob Morley came off his wheel 150 out with Oliver tucked in on his wheel. With fifty to go Oliver popped out and did just enough to win by a wheel. Kevin Lee rode well the whole race for third. John creek and the consistent Larkin were fourth and fifth respectively.

The only question to answer was fastest time. I came down to the two legends in Mirrabella and Garley. They both stormed up the hill leaving Peter Keil and Phil Cartledge in their wake. Garley was too strong and Mirrabella sat up as he realised he was beaten by a better man on the day.


1-Tim Oliver 2- Bob Morley 3-Kevin Lee 4- John Creek 4-Ron Larkin

Fastest time Doug Garley

Recent club racing


Race Archives

Login Form